Brooklyn Cyclones Release Preliminary Roster

By Jacob Resnick

June 18, 2017 2 Comments

(Jacob Resnick/Mets Minors)

The Brooklyn Cyclones, the Short Season-A affiliate of the New York Mets, released their preliminary roster today. The roster does not feature any of the organization’s 2017 draft picks, as they are expected to be added in the coming days and weeks, as they all sign and are cleared to play.

Brooklyn will be led by Edgardo Alfonzo, who will be making his professional managerial debut. Alfonzo, a 12-year major league veteran with the Mets, Giants, Angels, and Blue Jays, replaces Tom Gamboa as the Cyclones’ skipper, after he retired following the 2016 season. Alfonzo served on Gamboa’s staff as a bench coach for three seasons.

The Cyclones’ roster is listed in its entirety below:

Pitchers (11):

RHP Keaton Aldridge

RHP Nicolas Debora

RHP Gregorix Estevez

LHP Kurtis Horne

RHP Trent Johnson

RHP Thomas McIlraith (rehab)

LHP Jose Carlos Medina

RHP Joe Napolitano

RHP Darwin Ramos

LHP Jake Simon

RHP Chris Viall

Catchers (3):

Scott Manea

Jose Maria

Carlos Sanchez

Infielders (5):

Cecilio Aybar

Leon Byrd#

Franklin Correa

Reed Gamache

Walter Rasquin

Outfielders (4):

Jose Miguel Medina

Ian Strom

Jeremy Wolf*

Jacob Zanon (rehab)

The roster includes only three returnees from 2016, in Estevez and Correa — who combined for ten games in Brooklyn last season — and Zanon, who will be headed back to Columbia when he is fully recovered from a concussion suffered in April. Aldridge, Debora, and Sanchez are the only three who have not made a stop in Kingsport, although Aldridge did not pitch in 2016 while recovering from Tommy John surgery

The starting rotation options should include Simon, Viall, Ramos, Debora, and McIlraith, until he recovers from injury.

The Cyclones open up their 2017 campaign on Monday in Staten Island, before hosting the Baby Bombers in their home opener Tuesday night.