Mets Call Up Wilmer Flores From Vegas Until Murphy Returns

By Former Writers

April 2, 2014 4 Comments

Flores 7

April 2 – Update: 1:25 PM

The Mets have added Wilmer Flores to stand in for Daniel Murphy until he returns from paternity leave in a few days, and Kyle Farnsworth to their 40-man roster to replace the injured Bobby Parnell.

Flores should return back to Vegas later this week and Farnsworth, if he pitches well should be a mainstay in the Mets bullpen.

April 1

The Las Vegas 51’s have released their 2014 Opening Day roster and the team looks poised to go after another Division crown. It could be a very successful season for the franchise.

Wally Backman will be returning as skipper for another season, and he will be joined by hitting coach George Greer and pitching coach Tom Signore. In 2013, Backman’s bunch went 80-64 and won their Divison but lost in the first round of the playoffs.

For a ballpark that had 328,266 fans in attendance for 2013, this season they may draw even more with the talent pool that will be playing day in and day out for the team.

Noah Syndergaard leads the strong pitching staff that also includes, other top pitching prospects, Rafael Montero,  Jacob deGrom, and veterans Daisuke Matsuzaka and Kyle Farnsworth.

On the offensive side, Wilmer Flores will start in Vegas until the Mets feel he is needed on the big club and a group of talented hitters that include, 1B Allan Dykstra, the 2013 Eastern League Most Valuable Player and the organizations Sterling Minor League Player of the Year, who hit 274, with 22 doubles, 21 home runs, and 82 RBI, and outfielders Matt den Dekker, Kurt Nieuwenhuis, and Cesar Puello, just to name a few.

The Mets announced on Monday evening that they also signed OF Bobby Abreu, 40, to a minor league deal, to give the outfield some insurance. He last played in 2012 with the Los Angeles Dodgers and during the past off-season he signed a minor league deal with the Philadelphia Phillies. In 17 spring games, he hit .244/.404/.466, before being released released.

Here are the 2014 Las Vegas 51’s.


Giancarlo Alvarado, RHP
Vic Black, RHP
Buddy Carlyle, RHP
Joe Carreno, RHP
Jacob deGrom, RHP
Josh Edgin, LHP
Dana Eveland, LHP
Kyle Farnsworth, RHP
Erik Goeddel, RHP
Daisuke Matsuzaka, RHP
Rafael Montero, RHP
Ryan Reid, RHP
Miguel Socolovich, RHP
Noah Syndergaard, RHP
Logan Verret, RHP
Jeff Walters, RHP


Juan Centeno, C
Kai Gronauer, C
Taylor Teagarden, C


Eric Campbell, IF
Allan Dykstra, 1B
Wilmer Flores, 3B
Zach Lutz, 3B
Daniel Muno, 2B
Anthony Seratelli, 2B


Matt den Dekker, CF
Kirk Nieuwenhuis, CF
Cesar Puello, RF
Bobby Abreu, OF